Chamber Works



For string quartet and electronics

I. Violeta
II. Alfonsina
III. Ana C.

This work takes its artistic impetus from the last writings of three South American female poets who took their own lives: Violeta Parra (1917-1967) from Chile, Alfonsina Storni (1892-1938) from Argentina and Ana Cristina Cesar (1952-1983) from Brazil. 
I have become increasingly interested in exploring my culture as the root of my artistic personality and the source of my inspiration. I felt inspired by the poetry of fellow South American women and especially compassionate by the last writings of those who committed suicide.



Versions for Bb Cl, 2 Vlns, Vla, Vcl and Fl, Bb Cl, Pno, Vln, Vlc

Lus in Bello is inspired by a socio-political conflict in Venezuela.  After the rape of a student in San Cristobal, Tachira in February 2014, many students around the coutnry began publicly protesting the lack of security in Venezuela, a country with one of the highest murder rates in the world.  Soon the score group of student protesters began attracting the attention of the general public.  A diverse group of citizens joined the protests to demand solutions to the uncontrollable inflation, shortage of food supplies, manipulation of the mass media by the government, and corruption.  The government responded to these protests with violent repression.  As of April 2014 they had killed 42 civilians in confrontations.  The government has used psychological and physical denigration to torture the protesters.  Lus in Bello is Latin for Law of War; this is a set of moral principles that regulate confrontation.  These implicit and explicit pacts must be honored during the conflict.  In Venezuela these laws of war have been broken.


Large Ensemble Works



for soprano and SATB choir

Virginia is based on Virginia Woolf´s suicide letter to her husband, dated in May 1941.


I feel certain I am going mad again. I feel we can’t go through another of those terrible times. And I shan’t recover this time. I begin to hear voices, and I can’t concentrate. So I am doing what seems the best thing to do. You have given me the greatest possible happiness. You have been in every way all that anyone could be. I don’t think two people could have been happier till this terrible disease came. I can’t fight any longer. I know that I am spoiling your life, that without me you could work. And you will I know. You see I can’t even write this properly. I can’t read. What I want to say is I owe all the happiness of my life to you. You have been entirely patient with me and incredibly good. I want to say that – everybody knows it. If anybody could have saved me it would have been you. Everything has gone from me but the certainty of your goodness. I can’t go on spoiling your life any longer.

I don’t think two people could have been happier than we have been.



For string quartet, string orchestra, piano and percussion


Electronic Works



For cello and electronics


Dejate Caer

For violin and electronics

The title Déjate Caer can be translated from spanish as: let yourself fall, and is taken from the poem Arbol de Diana by Alejandra Pizarnik:

“Vida, mi vida, déjate caer, déjate doler,
mi vida, déjate enlazar de fuego,
de silencio ingenuo,
de piedras verdes en la casa de la noche,
déjate caer y doler, mi vida.”

[Life, my life, let yourself fall, let yourself hurt,
my life, let yourself be engulfed by fire,
of ingenuous silence,
of green stones in the house of the night,
let yourself fall and hurt, my life.]